The New Era - All about Sweet Home since 1929

SHJH wrestlers win district championship over 17 others


February 9, 2016

MEMBERS of the district champion team include, in front, from left, Kyle Watkins and Zander Ford. In second row, from left, are Christian Gregory, Tristan Spencer, Conner Ford, Jack Royer, Travis Thorpe, Brayden Newport and Bryce Porter, Manager Lexi Schilling and Coach Greg Newport. In rear, from left, are Coach Dave Schocker, Coach Trever Olson, Gavin Walberg, Keegan Stiles, David McMullen, Nick James, Evan O’Brien, Lucas Victor and Isaac Schafer.

Thirteen Sweet Home Junior High wrestlers placed as the Tigers won the Valley League district championship Saturday at Central Linn High School.

Sweet Home scored 185 points, ahead of Cottage Grove (138), Thurston (11), Junction City (97) and Central Linn (92) in the 18-team field.

Kyle Watkins (70 pounds), Tristan Spencer (84), Jack Royer (98) and Travis Thorpe (128) all won district titles.

Second-place finishers were Bryce Porter (112) and David McMullen (210).

Finishing third were Zander Ford (65), Conner Ford (91), Brayden Newport (105) and Evan O’Brien (265).

Christian Gregory...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2018

Rendered 02/10/2019 18:06