The New Era - All about Sweet Home since 1929

Kobe Olson named Outstanding Wrestler


March 15, 2016

WRESTLING AWARD winners are, from left, Joe Rasmussen, Bryson Denver, Robert Watkins, Tyrel Miller, Kobe Olson and Ricky Yunke.

Junior Kobe Olson was named Sweet Home’s Outstanding Wrestler Sunday evening at the team’s awards potluck.

The team celebrated its second straight regional championship this year and a fourth-place state trophy.

Olson, who finished the season 51-8 and won a state title at 120 pounds, was presented with the newly named Pat Baxter trophy.

““We named the outstanding wrestler award after Pat Baxter,” Coach Steve Thorpe said, referring to the longtime wrestling supporter who died Jan. 26.

“I chose to do this because of her over 60 years of dedication to Sweet Home wrestling. Als...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2018