The New Era - All about Sweet Home since 1929

Fourth-graders named winners of fire safety poster contest


June 14, 2016

WINNERS of Sweet Home’s annual fire prevention poster contest are and artists who re-created the winning entries to billboard size are, from left, Maddy Reynolds, Abby Stone, Korrin Matney, Hailey Brown, Neil Miller of the Oregon Department of Forestry, Ashley Farthing, Justin Maynard, Haley Trew, Rhiannon Stiles and Trevor Bruner.

Three local elementary school artists have been selected winners in the annual fire prevention poster contest.

The grand prize posters were created by Maddy Reynolds of Molly Tenbusch’s class at Hawthorne School, Justin Maynard of Carla Alexander’s class at Hawthorne, and Trevor Bruner of Cynthia Davis’ class at Oak Heights.

This is the contest’s 35th year. A total of 120 students participated this year, mostly fourth-graders but with some third- and fifth-graders from mixed classes. The contest was run by the Oregon Department of Forestry and the U.S. Forest Service.

The poster...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2018