The New Era - All about Sweet Home since 1929

Hannah Jewett, Chloe Newport named co-MVPs for girls soccer


November 22, 2016

GIRLS SOCCER award winners are, from left, Bethany Gingerich, Chloe Newport, Hannah Jewett, Milah Weld, Kenzi Adams, Ashley Farthing and Madelyn Neuschwander.

Hannah Jewett and Chloe Newport were named Most Valuable Player for the girls varsity soccer team Thursday night during the team’s awards banquet.

The team selected award winners, Coach Ramiro Santana said, but the two girls were just one vote apart. He decided that both deserved MVP honors and awarded it accordingly.

Defender of the Year also went to Jewett and Newport, who kept the Huskies in many games with stout D.

Sweet Home ended the season 5-5 in league play and 8-6-1 overall.

Kenzi Adams was Midfielder of the Year, and Milah Weld was named Forward of the Year.

Ashley Farthing was most improved, and Bethany Gingerich was Rookie of the Year.

Madelyn Neuschwander won the Hustle Award. She also won the JV MVP award and Best Midfielder award.

Santana gave the Coach’s Award to Newport, Adams and Weld.

For junior varsity, Hannah Ramsey was Best Defender. Best Forward was Torree Hawken. The Hustle Award went to Hikari Kawai.

Sarah Hewitt was Most Improved, and Sydney Hooley won the Coach’s Award from Coach Mike Carpenter.

The banquet capped a volatile season in which Santana had to move players up from JV to varsity to cover for numerous injuries.

The Huskies quickly put together a long string of wins, 6-1-1 at one point, but a rash of injuries resulted in a four-game losing streak.

As players recovered late in the season, the Huskies recorded two more wins and then lost their final game at Elmira, just missing a playoff spot.

“I know we have a very good team,” Santana said. “And we still do. I didn’t know they were that hungry.”

Unfortunately, this team had more injuries than any team had coached before, Santana said. He lost two girls to injuries for the entire season.

“I never have used that many JV players,” Santana said.

Earning their first letters in soccer were freshman Karah Lewis; juniors Jade Stiles, Hannah Ramsey and Bethany Gingerich; and senior Sydney Chase.

Earning their second letters were sophomores Sydney Mauer, Ashley Farthing, Kendal Soland and Madelyn Neuschwander; junior Elizabeth Chelstad; and senior McKenzie Yoder.

Third-year lettermen were juniors Jessilyn Thomas, Cora McKee, Milah Weld, Hailey Nicholson and Kendyl Stutzman and senior Chelsea Nicholson.

Fourth-year letters went to seniors Kaylee Lewis, Hannah Jewett, Chloe Newport and Kenzi Adams.


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019

Rendered 08/02/2019 20:36