The New Era - All about Sweet Home since 1929

Husky wrestlers ‘compete’ to fourth at Rose City


December 13, 2016

NICH JAMES takes a shot for a takedown against Stayton’s Clay Dickerson.

Sweet Home placed fourth at the 26-team Rose City Championship tournament Saturday, behind Newberg, which took home the team title, and two Washington schools.

Senior 132-pounder Kobe Olson and junior 145-pounder Ricky Yunke were the highest placers for Sweet Home, both finishing second.

Olson lost 6-0 to Westview’s Joey Coste, the defending 6A state champion.

“It was a good match,” Coach Steve Thorpe said. “Kobe was very dominant in the tournament, leading up to the final.”

Yunke lost by a fall in 3:47 to Sumner, Wash.’s Nathan James after pinning his way to the final.

“It was a great tournament,” Thorpe said. “Ricky’s wrestling as good right now as anybody on our team. He has a good feel for what’s going on and I think he’s pretty excited about what’s going on.”

Other place-winners for Sweet Home included freshman Travis Thorpe, fourth at 132 pounds behind Olson; senior Jake Porter, fifth at 152 pounds; junior Justin Kurtz, sixth at 145 behind Yunke; sophomore Robert Watkins, sixth at 120; and freshman Jackson Royer, seventh at 113.

The two-day tournament was reduced to a single long day due to weather, Steve Thorpe said. That meant that normal wrestle-backs were curtailed. However, Bryce Coulter won the consolation bracket at 195 pounds, which normally would put him third in the tournament, and Bryson Denver was second at 182.

Thorpe said the Westview High School coaching staff, who hosted the meet, “ran it incredibly.”

“They couldn’t run it as a traditional tournament. We had a few kids bump up against the five-match limit, but that is a great problem to have.”

“Justin Kurtz stepped up, wrestling very well, and I’m very excited to have the young guys. Jackson competed and lost to some very good kids. Travis getting fourth place was pretty incredible. There were two state champions in that weight class. He just competed very well. Robert is wrestling up a weight.”

“We just competed well.” That, he said, is the emphasis at this point in the season.

I’m liking what I’m seeing right now. I think we’re headed in the right direction.

* * * * *

Sweet Home swept a four-team dual Tuesday, Dec. 6, at home, downing Churchill 72-10, South Albany 56-21 and Stayton 69-9.

The Huskies will travel to the Lebanon Tournament Friday at 9 a.m. and to Thurston for a tournament Saturday at 9 a.m.

Sweet Home 72, Churchill 12

106 – Connor Ford (SH) won by forfeit; 113 – Jackson Royer (SH) pinned Keshawn Abraham (C) :57; 120 – Robert Watkins (SH) won by forfeit; 126 – Dillon Stutzman (SH) pinned Mason Johnson (C) 1:31; 132 – Kobe Olson (SH) won by forfeit; 138 – Travis Thorpe (SH) won by forfeit; 145 – Ricky Yunke (SH) pinned Evan Powell (C) :47; 152 – Boe Baxter (SH) won by forfeit; 160 – Jake Porter (SH) pinned Anthony Tena (C) 2:45; 170 – Nich James (SH) won by forfeit; 182 – Devin Stafford (SH) won by forfeit; 195 – Bryce Coulter (SH) pinned Kannon Ruano (C) 1:12; 220 – Hayden Fausett (C) pinned Josh Rice (SH) 1:01; 285 – Jayden de Fond (C) pinned Justin Miller (SH) :13.

Sweet Home 56, South Albany 21

106 – Connor Ford (SH) won by forfeit; 113 – Jackson Royer (SH) won by forfeit; 120 – Robert Watkins (SH) won by forfeit; 126 – Dillon Stutzman (SH) pinned Hayden Watts (SA) 0:33; 132 – Kobe Olson (SH) pinned Gage Jones (SA) 0:39; 138 – Travis Thorpe (SH) pinned Mikey Medina (SA) 1:49; 145 – Ricky Yunke (SH) maj. dec. Isacc Ogden (SA) 11-2; 152 – Boe Baxter (SH) pinned Aaron Reineccius (SA) 2:36; 160 – Jake Porter (SH) maj. dec. Richard Monize (SA) 19-5; 170 – Nich James (SH) pinned Jovany Garibay-Perez (SA) 3:19; 182 – Austin Wimer (SA) won by tech fall over Devin Stafford (SH) 16-1 4:32; 195 – James Logan (SA) maj. dec. Bryce Coulter (SH) 14-2; 220 – Angel Huerta-Carrera (SA) pinned Josh Rice (SH) 1:01; 285 – Lane Hersha (SA) pinned Justin Miller (SH) 0:23.

Sweet Home 69, Stayton 9

BRYSON DENVER works to turn Stayton’s Levi Summers.

106 – Connor Ford (SH) won by forfeit; 113 – Jackson Royer (SH) won by forfeit; 120 – Robert Watkins (SH) dec. Ryan Ninman (S) 8-7; 126 – Dillon Stutzman (SH) won by forfeit; 132 – Kobe Olson (SH) pinned Tanner Goodman (S) 0:27; 138 – Travis Thorpe (SH) pinned Bailey Archuleta (S) 2:46; 145 – Ricky Yunke (SH) won by forfeit; 152 – Boe Baxter (SH) won by forfeit; 160 – Jake Porter (SH) won by forfeit; 170 – Nich James (SH) pinned Clay Dickerson (S) 1:58; 182 – Levi Summers (S) dec. Bryson Denver (SH) 10-4; 195 – Bryce Coulter (SH) pinned Daniel Sandefur (S) 1:29; 220 – Josh Rice (SH) won by forfeit; 285 – Anthony Detamore (S) pinned Justin Miller (SH) 0:26.


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2018