The New Era - All about Sweet Home since 1929

Wrestlers remain undefeated in Sky-Em with two more wins


January 31, 2017

ROBERT WATKINS gets set to pin Case Wells at 113 pounds.

Sweet Home’s wrestlers stayed unbeaten in Sky-Em competition last week with convincing wins over Sutherlin, 69-12 on Thursday, Jan. 26, and Elmira, 66-18 the night before.

“Sutherlin, in our league, has been one of better dual meet teams,” Coach Steve Thorpe said, noting that the Huskies got off to a good start in both matches with a series of falls in the lighter weights.

“(106-pounder) Connor Ford has been in there all year,” he said. “We are competing the way we should be competing right now. We’ve got guys training the right way, getting ready for regionals and state.”

The Huskies will host a depleted Cottage Grove team at 6 p.m. Thursday, Feb. 2, and Thorpe said he is hoping to add another team to the line-up for that night.

The regional tournament is Feb. 10-11 at Philomath.

Sweet Home 69, Sutherlin 12

106 – Connor Ford (SH) pinned Garrett Edwards (S) 0:29; 113 – Robert Watkins (SH) pinned Case Wells (S) 1:21; 120 – Robbie Yunke (SH) won by forfeit; 126 – Travis Thorpe (SH) pinned Bryce Olsen (S) 2:43; 132 – Kobe Olson (SH) pinned William Black (S) 1:39; 138 – Justin Kurtz (SH) pinned Kyler Wells (S) 3:22; 145 – Ricky Yunke (SH) pinned Bryce Anderson (S) 1:25; 152 – Jake Porter (SH) pinned Tyler Cross (S) 0:30; 160 – Nich James (SH) pinned William Singleton (S) 1:44; 170 – Bryson Denver (SH) dec. Conner Grauf (S) 6-1; 182 – Bryce Coulter (SH) pinned Christian Bearegard (S) 2:56; 195 – Devin Stafford (SH) won by forfeit; 220 – Andrew Smalley (S) pinned David McMullen (SH) 1:11; 285 – Alex Kennedy (S) pinned Josh Rice (SH) 2:43.

Sweet Home 66, Elmira 18

JOSH RICE looks for an opening against Bulldogs heavyweight Alex Kennedy.

106 – Connor Ford (SH) pinned Gray Canada (E) 2:53; 113 – Robert Watkins (SH) won by forfeit; 120 – Robbie Yunke (SH) pinned Austin Weidenback (E) 0:14;l 126 – Travis Thorpe (SH) pinned Hunter Davis (E) 2:46; 132 – Kobe Olson (SH) pinned Riley Craig (E) 1:11; 138 – Ricky Yunke (SH) won by forfeit; 145 – Boe Baxter (SH) won by forfeit; 152 – Jake Porter (SH) pinned Zach Russell (E) 0:33; 160 – Nich James (SH) pinned Mikey Montgomery (E) 1:27; 170 – Bryson Denver (SH) pinned Gunnar Cave (E) 3:30; 182 – Bryce Coulter (SH) pinned Mat Thorne (E) 2:45; 195 – Eddie Steele (E) won by forfeit; 220 – Logan Schmidt (E) pinned Josh Rice (SH) 0:55; 285 – Dylan Porter (E) pinned David McMullen (SH) 1:23.


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2018