The New Era - All about Sweet Home since 1929

Coulter, Yunke, Thorpe and Kurtz named Outstanding wrestlers


March 7, 2018

WRESTLING TEAM AWARD winners are, from left, Marissa Kurtz, Boe Baxter, Lexi Schilling, Robbie Yunke, Travis Thorpe, Bryce Coulter, Treyson Smith, Ricky Yunke and Connor Ford.

Seniors Bryce Coulter and Ricky Yunke, junior Marissa Kurtz and sophomore Travis Thorpe were named the Pat Baxter Outstanding Wrestlers for Sweet Home at the team's 22nd annual awards banquet Sunday evening, March 4.

The Huskies finished the season with a 33-5 dual meet record, as Linn County and Special District 2 champions, and with a third-place trophy from the state championships. Individually, Sweet Home wrestlers finished with 585 individual varsity wins, 393 of them by falls, 17 by major decisions and nine by technical fall. They scored 61 falls at the regional meet and 18 at stat...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019

Rendered 09/20/2019 09:26