The New Era - All about Sweet Home since 1929

Gingerich, Dinsfriend named MVPs for track and field


June 6, 2018

TRACK AND FIELD award winners include, in front, from left, Rawlins Lupoli, Zoe James, Connor Russell, Austin Stevens, Bethany Gingerich, Madelyn Neuschwander, Jessy Hart and Kailey James. In the rear, from left, are Noah Dinsfriend, Tristan Saultz, Lance Hanson, Jake Swanson, Casey Tow, Noah Taraski, Megan Hager and Kate Hawken. Not present for the photo were Hayden Nichol, Noah Moore, Ricky Yunke, Shelby Nichol, Brenna Boyd, Makayla Griffin, Annie Kennedy, Nadi Chumsri, Sicily Neuschwander and Katen Edwards.

Bethany Gingerich and Noah Dinsfriend were named Most Valuable Players for the track and field team Friday night, June 1, at the team's awards dinner.

Coach Dakotah Keys told a crowd of about 200 people at the event that the Huskies experienced "quite a lot of success" this season.

He noted that the team increased by about 30 athletes over 2017 and "there's strength in numbers. You can't win district or state titles without numbers.

One proof of the success this year was the fact that, for the first time since 1983 that all four Sweet Home relay teams have qualified for state, a fact conf...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019