The New Era - All about Sweet Home since 1929

Local coach gets national honor


October 17, 2018

Sweet Home High School wrestling coach Steve Thorpe, chairman of the Oregon Wrestling Association, has been named the 2018 USA Wrestling President’s Award winner.

Thorpe was selected as the winner by USA Wrestling’s President Bruce Baumgartner, the most decorated American wrestler in history.

The President’s Award was created in 2006 by then USA Wrestling President Jim Ravannack to recognize exemplary state chairpersons.

Thorpe, of Sweet Home, was selected as the award winner for his work with the OWA, the state affiliate of USA Wrestling. Since becoming the chairman of the OWA in 20...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2020

Rendered 01/10/2021 05:33