The New Era - All about Sweet Home since 1929

Huskies name Jake Swanson football's Most Valuable Player


November 28, 2018

Jake Swanson was named Most Valuable Player for the Sweet Home football team at its awards dinner Tuesday, Nov. 20.

Although Swanson was named the overall MVP, it was clear that fellow senior Nathan Virtue also rated highly in their teammates’ eyes, as Virtue was named both Offensive MVP and Defensive MVP by the team.

In presenting the MVP award, Assistant Coach Brent Gaskey cited Swanson’s “quiet” leadership and stabilizing influence for the Huskies, who went undefeated in their Oregon West League debut, with a 6-3 record, the first and last of those losses coming at the hands of...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021