The New Era - All about Sweet Home since 1929

Senior Kurtz and juniors Royer and Thorpe named Outstanding Wrestlers


March 6, 2019

WRESTLING AWARD winners are, in front, from left, Treyson Smith, Tristan Spencer, Hayden McDonald, Travis Thorpe, Marissa Kurtz and Paige Goodwin. In the rear, from left, are Kyle Watkins, Jackson Royer, Alex Olin, Boe Baxter and Jessy Hart.

Jackson Royer and Travis Thorpe were named Outstanding Wrestlers for the boys and Marissa Kurtz was the girls Outstanding Wrestler at the team's awards dinner held Sunday evening, March 3.

Thorpe and Royer, both juniors, won state titles in the 4A boys championships on Feb. 23 and Kurtz, a senior, won her third girls championship in a competition that included girls from all divisions.

The Pat Baxter Outstanding Wrestler award is named after a longtime supporter of the program who, Coach Steve Thorpe reminded the crowd at the dinner, used money she'd made babysitting to purchase an Outsta...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021