SHJH Wrestling


April 15, 2020

Sweet Home Junior High wrestling team members during the past season include, in front, from left, Alex Reed, Emilio Grajiola, Ian Buczko, Evan Ashcraft, Dillan Davis, Jacob Landtroop, Conner Shoup, Rocco White, Riley Vaughn, Gabe Hartle-Groff, Jesse Landtroop and James Rasmussen. In the second row, from left, are Gabriel Meadors, Bryce Koehne, Cohen Gutierrez, Preston Kegler, Luke Rosa, Jackson Barringer, Jeremiah Steagall, Kyle Sieminski, Tytus Hardee, Killan Boggs, Bailey Chafin, Lukas Elliott, Chance Linn and Kyle Zajic. In the rear, from left, are Coach Andrew Swanson, Coach Greg Newport, Brody Olsen, Ashton Swanson, Kayo Ebbs, Linkyn Royer, David Steagall, Jon Holly, Bryson Baker, Bradley Marks, Colton Lester, Ryker Hartsook, Laird Pettner, Todd Deeds, Coach Clint Sieminski and Coach Jeff Landtroop. The Tigers repeated as regional and district champions this year, taking the district title with 220 points, ahead of Harrisburg (204) and Lowell (138).District champions were Jesse Landtroop (65 pounds), Riley Vaughn (70), Rocco White (74), Kyle Sieminski (82), and Ryker Hartsook (130). Placing second were Tytus Hardee at 82 pounds; Ashton Swanson (114) and David Steagall (187). Third-place finishers were Alex Reed at 92 pounds and Luke Rosa at 98. Taking fourth were Dillan Davis (82); Laird Pettner (108); Jerimiah Steagall (136); and Linkyn Royer (165). "We did really well this year," said Coach Greg Newport, noting that the Tigers had so many qualified wrestlers that they "kind of crowded the lineup" in tournaments. "Coming back next year, I think we will do even better. (Sweet Home High School Coach) Steve (Thorpe) is going to get some great freshmen.

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021