The New Era - All about Sweet Home since 1929

Elks award winners


April 22, 2020

The Sweet Home Elks presented awards to local students who placed in essay, poster and hoop shoot contests in a ceremony on March 11. In front, from left, are Noah Medellin, a fifth-grader from Hawthorne, who was third in the Freedom of Speech essay contest; Courtney Newens, Hawthorne fifth-grader, who was first in the Eye Poster contest, entries in which illustrate the importance of eye health and safety; Ella Forum, Hawthorne sixth-grader, third-place Eye Poster; Ashley Duncan, Hawthorne sixth-grader, first-place essay; Eleanor Larsen, Hawthorne sixth-grader, second-place essay; Audrey McCutcheon, Hawthorne fifth-grader, second-place Eye Poster; and Brynn McCutcheon, Hawthorne fifth-grader, first-place winner in the Hoop Shoot and district placewinner. In the rear are, from left, Amos Burger, Hoop Shoot director; Megan Hager, Sweet Home High School senior, Elks local and district scholarship winner; and Randy Claasen, Elks exalted ruler. Not present was Madalyn Coleman, Oak Heights fifth-grader, who qualified and placed at district in the Hoop Shoot. FOR ALL PHOTOS, see our photo gallery:

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021