The New Era - All about Sweet Home since 1929

Thorpe, Royer and Hart named Outstanding Wrestlers at long-delayed awards event


June 3, 2020

WRESTLING AWARD WINNERS include, from left, Bryce Porter, Nich James, Travis Thorpe, Lexi Schilling and Jackson Royer. Only seniors were present in person at the awards event. Not pictured, but also receiving wrestling awards, were Jale Sieminski, Jessy Hart, Kami Hart, Paige Chafin, Treyson Smith and Lilly Lindsey.

State champions Jackson Royer and Travis Thorpe were named the Pat Baxter Outstanding Wrestlers for Sweet Home's boys wrestling team, and state placewinner Jessy Hart was named Outstanding Wrestler for the girls as the Huskies finally got their awards last week, ending a nearly three-month postponement due to the coronavirus shutdown.

Senior members of the team congregated at Coach Steve Thorpe's home Friday evening, May 29, while others watched a livestreamed broadcast of the event.

Special guest Bruce Baumgartner, widely considered the best heavyweight freestyle wrestler in U.S. history...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021