The New Era - All about Sweet Home since 1929

Nine candidates in race for four Sweet Home City Council seats


October 14, 2020

From left are: James Goble, Lisa Gourley, David Lowman, Dylan Richards, Angelita N. Sanchez, Dave Trask, and Theo White.

Nine candidates, listed below, are on the ballot for four open seats on Sweet Home's City Council.

Four, James Goble, Lisa Gourley, Cortney Nash and Dave Trask, are running for re-election. Challengers are David Lowman, Dylan Richards, Angelita N. Sanchez, Theo White and George S. Yeager.

The three candidates who finish with the most votes in the Nov. 3 election will be elected to four-year terms, with the fourth-place finisher getting a two-year term.

Candidates were sent a questionnaire by The New Era. Below are candidates who responded. Some candidates did not respond and some responded with statements of their positions rather than direct answers to questions. Their responses are listed as they fit under appropriate questions. See page 2.

James Goble, 46

Years in Sweet Home: Not Listed.

Education: Linn-Benton Community College.

Professional Experience: Not Listed.

Political Experience: City Council member for 4½ years; Planning Commission member for four years, briefly as chairman.

Other Community Involvement: Organized parks cleanup efforts, Adopt A Park program.

Family: Not Listed.


Lisa Gourley, 59

Years in Sweet Home: 59

Education: Graduated from Sweet Home High School. "Extensive training through both local and national programs."

Professional Experience: Started at White's Electronics in high school; have owned and operated a "successful retail and wholesale business;" employed at Sweet Home School District since 1995.

Political Experience: Sweet Home City Council member for four years; extensive volunteer experience and involvement on the local and state level, having worked as an office manager at the Oregon Lands Coalition ensuring timber supply and use, organizing both state and national lobby days while coordinating state and federal communications between agencies and timber companies.

Other Community Involvement: Past City Youth Advisory Council (YAC) adviser – hosting youth lobby days at the capital, Rural Youth Leadership Summits, hosting YAC Community Leader Interviews, and accompanying local youths to National Youth Leadership Summit and to the State Governor's School Task Force to report with Beaverton students who attended the summit. Other community involvement includes volunteer genealogy researcher, Hero Banner Project co-organizer,

chair of the city's Community Health Committee, Rural Projects National Committee, past president of Sweet Home Youth League, past Zombie Run co-organizer, and

young women's advisor.

Family: Married to Jim Gourley since 1980; four children, six grandchildren.

Contact: (541) 971-3457 or

David Lowman, 57

Years in Sweet Home: 2.

Education: Graduated from Hudson Senior High School; Graduated from University of South Florida (business/finance).

Professional Experience: Retired Kroger store manager.

Political Experience: City of Sweet Home Budget Committee, City of Sweet Home City Charter Review Committee.

Other Community Involvement: Not Listed.

Family: Born in Cleveland, Ohio; moved to Florida with parents. Lived there for 40-plus years. Four brothers and one sister, including an identical twin brother, Donnie, with whom he resides in Sweet Home.

Contact: (727) 465-8299.

Cortney Nash

Did not respond to questionnaire.

Dylan Richards, 23

Years in Sweet Home: 23.

Education: Sweet Home High School (2016); Oregon State University.

Professional Experience: Burke Logging.

Political Experience: Outreach coordinator for Secretary of State Dennis Richardson's office (2016), field coordinator for Knute Buehler for Governor campaign (2018).

Other Community Involvement: Not Listed.

Family: Parents Amy and Aaron Burke, siblings Brookelynn and Jaxson Burke.


Angelita N. Sanchez, 40

Years in Sweet Home: Since 1993, off and on. Bought first home locally in 2017.

Education: Attended Sweet Home High School, Western Mennonite, LBCC, CDL and CCB licence holder.

Professional Experience: Construction since 2008, business owner since 2016, owner-operator truck driver.

Political Experience: Timber Unity Board of Directors Secretary

Other Community Involvement: Former Mid Valley Harvest Board Secretary and Volunteer; Safehaven Humane Society, Gleaning/Food Banks, local churches; Small business advocate since 2010.

Family: Daughter of Yosef and Renita Cohen. Mom to Danacia, 22; Kashanti, 18; and Cash, 14.

Contact: (541) 979-8208

Dave Trask, 70

Years in Sweet Home: Born in Missouri, but have lived in Sweet Home for 69 years. "I love this community and was able to raise my four children here, who have, in turn, blessed me with six grandchildren.

Education: Sweet Home High School graduate

Professional Experience: Retired from 32 years in the communications industry.

Political Experience: Elected to Sweet Home City Council in 2016; City of Sweet Home Budget Committee since 2012; City of Sweet Home Administration, Finance and Property Committee 2016 – present; Sweet Home Parks and Tree Committee 2016 – present; Member of the Linn County Republican Party.

Other Community Involvement: Member of the Community Chapel, 48 years as volunteer firefighter.

Family: Four children; six grandchildren.

Contact: (541) 971-1956

Theo White

Years in Sweet Home: Not Listed.

Education: M.A. Education, Certified Academic Coach, Southern Oregon University.

Professional Experience: Teacher.

Political Experience: Champion of the U.S. Constitution; Founder of the Freedom Rally.

Other Community Involvement

Family: Not Listed.


George S. Yeager

Did not respond to questionnaire.


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2020

Rendered 10/21/2020 20:30