The New Era - All about Sweet Home since 1929

State champs and top girl finishers named Outstanding Wrestlers


July 7, 2021

WRESTLING award winners are, from left, Brayden Newport, Kyle Sieminski, Jake Fanning, Paige Chafin, Tristan Spencer, Sicily Neuschwander, Colby Gazeley, Treyson Smith, Charlie Crawford, Jake Sieminski and Kami Hart.

Jessy Hart, Paige Chafin and state wrestling champions Kyle Sie-minski, Jake Sieminski, Brayden Newport and Tristan Spencer were named Pat Baxter Outstanding Wrestlers at the wrestling team's awards dinner Thursday, July 1.

The 2½-hour event drew a large crowd to the Commons area at the high school, where Coach Steve Thorpe and his staff delivered awards to their wrestlers, along with plenty of commentary.

Thorpe noted "how special our awards banquet is; we don't do it like the others and I take a lot of pride in that."

He credited his team for not only winning the state team titl...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2023