The New Era - All about Sweet Home since 1929

Five state champs named most valuable wrestlers for Huskies


March 9, 2022

Provided photo

Wrestling award winners are, from left, Jesse Jamison, Jacob Sieminski, Ryker Hartsook, Jacob Landtroop, Kami Hart, Paige Chafin, Colby Gazeley, Zoey Erevia, Christian Gregory, Kendra Jamison, Kaden Zajic and Kyle Sieminski.

Sweet Home wrestling coaches couldn't decide on a worthy recipient of the Pat and Ernie Baxter Outstanding Wrestler Award for the team's awards banquet Saturday night, March 6, at Community Chapel.

So they chose all five of the nominees: Paige Chafin, Colby Gazeley, Jacob Landtroop, Jacob Sieminski and Kyle Sieminski.

"It's hard not to give it to all five of our state champions," Coach Steve Thorpe explained as the awards were handed out.

The event was attended by nearly 200 people who came together to celebrate a year in which the Huskies' girls program exploded in numbers and stature i...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2023

Rendered 06/08/2023 17:20