Ashton scholarship applications open

Applications for the 13th annual Dan and Daisy Ashton Scholarship are available from the Linn-Benton Community College Sweet Home Center.

Application deadline is April 30.

The Ashtons were local business and civic leaders for many years. They were supportive of LBCC and endowed a large scholarship upon their passing.

In June 1996, the first Ashton Scholarships were provided to eight Sweet Home High School graduates. In 1997, the program was expanded to include persons in the community who may have graduated from high school some time ago and now wish to obtain a college education.

Scholarship criteria include the following:

Eligibility: Be a SHHS senior or resident of the School District, attend LBCC in a certificate program, degree program or transfer program (preference is given to full-time students), have a minimum 2.5 GPA (current students only) and fill out the proper application form.

Include two letters of recommendation from a teacher, administrator or employer. Include a transcript of grades (high school seniors or current college students only).

Conditions of award: The award will cover the cost of tuition at LBCC for a period of one school year. Must be a full-time student and maintain at least 12 credit hours per term. About one-third of winners are eligible for renewal scholarships contingent upon funds available and student grades. The high school winners will be announced publicly at the annual awards assembly, and others will be announced in The New Era and notified by mail.

Must satisfactorily complete 12 hours per term with a minimum 2.0 GPA. Failure to maintain full-time status and a 2.0 GPA may result in the loss of scholarship.

Criteria for selection: Financial need. Participation in academic, community or school-sponsored activities (high school students only).

Preference is given to applications in the community who have participated in community activities. Preference is given to applicants in the community who have a high school diploma, GED or who successfully pass the ability to benefit test.

Selection committee will be composed of community members, teachers and other school personnel.