Candidates finalized for May 18 vote

Most candidates in Sweet Home’s May 18 election will be unchallenged, following the end of the filing period to run in the various district races that are open.

The only competitive race will be the Zone 8 At Large seat for the Sweet Home School Board, for which three candidates have filed.

Incumbent Jim Gourley will face challengers Dale Keene and Elizabeth Ruck for the seat.

Incumbent Jason Van Eck is unchallenged for the Zone 5 At Large seat, incumbent Jason Redick is unchallenged for the Zone 7 At Large seat, and newcomer Janice Albert is unchallenged for the Zone 2 Liberty seat currently occupied by Jenny Daniels.

No candidates filed for the Zone 1 Holley seat, currently occupied by Chanz Keeney, the Zone 3 Foster seat currently occupied by Joe Kennedy, and the Zone 6 Crawfordsville seat.

The other competitive race will be for Position 4 on the Sweet Home Fire and Ambulance Board of Directors, which is being vacated by the resignation of Don Hopkins, who has served 50 years on the board.

Candidates for the position are Brock Cota, Kenneth A. Weld and Rob Younger.

Incumbent Dawn Mitchell is unchallenged for the Position 5 seat.

For the Sweet Home Cemetery District Board of Directors, Laura Mather, Kyle Sullens and Mike Melcher are all unchallenged.

Ballots will be mailed to voters April 28, who need to return them by May 11.