Cross-country awards

Seniors Jess Keys and Cassandra Schumacher were named Most Valuable Runners for the boys and girls cross-country teams, respectively, at the team’s awards dinner.

Schumacher and junior Ashley Danielson were named to the all Val-Co District first team for the girls, while Keys and fellow senior Peter VanDerlip were named to the boys first team.Second team all-district winners for the Huskies were senior Jake Smith, junior Ramiro Santana and sophomore Robert Callagan for the boys. Senior Jessica Trautwein, who barely missed a trip to state herself, made the second team for the girls.

Sophomore Josh Rice was named to all-district honorable mention honors for the boys.The Iron Man Award, given to the runner who makes the most practices, went to Danielson.Rookie Runner awards went to freshman Jill Mahler and junior Land Florek. Most Improved Runner went to freshman David Rinehart.Most Inspirational Runners were Smith, Trautwein and freshman Louise Wilcox. The Will to Win award went to VanDerlip.

Fourth-year letter winners were VanDerlip and Trautwein.Third-year letters went to Danielson, Stacey Grove, Dallin Holden and Keys. Second-year letters went to Smith, Schumacher, Ramiro Santana and Robert Callagan.First-year varsity letters went to Florek, Lacey Hightower, Mahler and Rice.