Dahlenburg named Kiwanian of Year, new S.H. officers installed

Last week, Division 72 Lt. Gov. Kris Wilder installed the Sweet Home Kiwanis Chapter’s new officer and Kiwanian Ben Dahlenburg was named Kiwanian of the Year.

Dahlenburg is active in Scouting. He was Key Club adviser in the 1970s and 1980s. He started the Key Club Talent Show for May Week and taken students to Key Club conventions. He built the Kiwanis-Key Club dunk tank.

He has helped in the Singing Christmas Tree bough collection. He organized the Foster Mud Flat races concessions trailer and the Oregon Jamboree concessions trailer. Along with Sweet Home RV, he helped build the trailer.

He is a Kiwanis board member. He is chairman of Clean-Up Day and the Kiwanis Service Committee.

The Kiwanian of the Year is selected from the Sweet Home and the Lebanon Clubs.

Dahlenburg is married to Christine Dahlenburg. They have three children, Jeremy, Joshua and Jake.

Officers installed include President Sally Pelham, President Elecet Shirley Austin, Vice President Dick Hill, Secretary Nancy Slauson and Treasurer Jean McKinney.

New board members include Dave Furtwangler, Dean Kyle and Rick Burnett. Steve Fletcher leaves the board this year. Remaining on the board are Dahlenburg and Clint Sturdevant.