Drew Emmert, Gavin Kaufmann named hoops MVPs

The Huskies boys basketball team gave its Most Oustanding Player award to Drew Emmert and Gavin Kauffman at its annual awards dessert last week.

Best Defender went to Brock Cota and Brent Moyer. Jerome Coleman and John Webb received the Hustle Award. Willie Jones and Levi Marchbanks received the Felix Wilkerson Sportsmanship Award. Kauffman won the Free-Throw Award for shooting 79 percent from the foul line.

Kauffman also was named to the first team all-state. Emmert was selected to play and Coach Kostanty Knurowski to coach in the OACA All-Star Series June 18-19.

Receiving all-league honors were Kauffman, Co-Player of the Year; Emmert, first team; Jones, second team; Marchbanks and Moyer, honorable mention. Knurowski was named Coach of the Year.

The team finished with a 19-4 record overall and an 11-1 league record, winning the 2009-10 league championship.

The Huskies were ranked number one in the state for the first time since 2000, and they spent five weeks at the top of the polls.

Third-year letter winners included Jerome Coleman, Drew Emmert, Levi Marchbanks and Brent Moyer. Second-year lettermen were Brock Cota, Gavin Kauffman and John Webb. First-year letters went to Willie Jones, Robert Rubidoux and Chris Webb.

The junior varsity team, coached by Tim Matuszak, finished 12-8. Co-Players of the Year were Dallas Morgan and Chris Webb.

Most Improved was Daniel Jeffreys. Taylor Mauch was Best Defender. Jerohn Coleman and Cody Felkins were Most Inspirational.

The junior varsity two, coached by Grant McHill, finished the season with a 5-11 record. Jason Sarter was named Most Improved. Travis Bennett was Best Defender. The Hard Hat Award for toughness and hustle went to Josh Wooley.