Filing period open for 4 seats in City Council race

The filing period for Sweet Home City Council elections is under way this week. It ends at 5 p.m. on Aug. 24.

Councilors reaching the ends of their terms include Mayor Craig Fentiman, Scott McKee Jr., Eric Markell and Greg Mahler.

Councilors who are not up for re-election this year include Jim Gourley, Laure Fowler and Ron Rodgers.

The election will be held on Nov. 2. Terms begin on Jan. 1.

Candidates must be registered to vote and have at least one year of residency in Sweet Home.

To file, candidates must complete a Declaration of Candidacy form and pay a $10 filing fee. Eligible candidates may also file by gathering at least 10 but not more than 20 signatures of registered voters inside the city limits.

Filing information must be turned in at the city manager’s office in City Hall, 1140 12th Ave. Business hours are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

The three candidates receiving the highest number of votes will receive four-year terms. The candidate receiving the fourth-highest number of votes will receive a two-year term.

For more information, contact Wendy Younger, administrative assistant, at (541) 367-8969.