Grapplers honored at annual fete

Senior Tomas Rosa was named the outstanding wrestler for 2003-04 last Monday during the annual Husky wrestling banquet held at the Community Chapel.

Rosa, 140 pounds, finished fifth at the state tournament and was the district champion.

He led the team in tech falls with two, most first takedowns with 23, was second in most team points with 161, fourth in most forfeits with four, second in most wins with 32, second in most falls with 16 and third in most major decisions with two.

“Tomas was an incredible leader for us this season,” Coach Steve Thorpe said. “He’s a hard-nosed wrestler, a no-nonsense athlete who’s all business.”

Senior heavyweight Rob Martin led the team with the most points, 204, and set a new school record for most falls, with 28.

“Rob is a two-time state placer and was a Greco Roman state runner-up,” Coach Thorpe said.

Coach Thorpe said that Martin came down with a bad case of the flu during the state tournament week and lost 16 pounds.

“Yet, he toughed it out and gave it everything he had,” Coach Thorpe said. “He won his first two matches but just didn’t have anything left. A coach couldn’t ask anymore than that from anyone.”

Martin finished second in most forfeits with five and second in most first takedowns with 21.

Other seniors taking a bow Monday were Jeb Koechig, Donny Cliver, Brian Corliss, Hance Woody and Matt Harkey.

“Matt Harkey and I have gone up and down Interstate 5 going to Greco and Freestyle meets,” Coach Thorpe said. “Matt was on the Cadet National Team and took advantage of every opportunity given him. He is a good leader and a very good person.”

Also winning team awards were…

Iron Man: Sophomore Shane Vandehei and senior Rob Martin.

Workhorse Award: Tomas Rosa.

Rookie of the Year: Rob Helfrich.

Fan Appreciation Award: Ivan Vandehei.

Extra Mile Award: Shannon Tagle.

Junior letter winners included Colt Campbell, Jon Farris, Jesse Aitken, Chris Kelley and Brandon Martin.

Junior certificate recipients were Travis Smith, Kellen Petersen, Shim Baxter and Mike Allen.

Sophomore letter winners were John Sutten, Brian Lindsay, Joey Ellis, Shane Vandehei, Trevor Tagle, Tom Helfrich, Travis Walker and Colton Cooley.

Freshmen were Daniel Smith, Andrew Knight, Sawyer Anderson, Robert Helfrich, Corey Autrey, Matt Parker, Jake Smith and Brent Woody.

The Huskies finished the season with a 19-9 record and were 5-0 in league.

State placers: 112 lbs., Shane Vandehei, sixth; 140 lbs., Tomas Rosa, fifth; 215 lbs., Brandon Martin, eighth; 275 lbs., Rob Martin, sixth.

Category leaders:

Most forfeits: Daniel Smith, 7; Rob Martin, 5; Matt Harkey, 4; Tomas Rosa, 4; Tom Helfrich, 4.

Most Team Points: Rob Martin, 204; Tomas Rosa, 161; Shane Vandehei, 129; Bryan Corliss, 122; Jesse Aitken, 96.

Most Tech Falls: Tomas Rosa, 2; Brian Lindsay, 1; Shane Vandehei, 1.

Most First Takedowns: Tomas Rosa, 23; Rob Martin, 21; Bryan Corliss, 20; Shane Vandehei, 19; Trevor Tagle, 14.

Most Wins: Rob Martin, 35; Tomas Rosa, 32; Bryan Corliss, 24; Shane Vandehei, 24; Trevor Tagle, 17.

Most Falls: Rob Martin, 28; Tomas Rosa, 16; Shane Vandehei, 15; Bryan Corliss, 14; Jesse Aitken, 13.

Most Major Decisions: Matt Harkey, 3; Trevor Tagle, 3; Tomas Rosa, 2; Bryan Corliss, 1; Hance Woody, 1.