Husky wrestlers win large school-dominated Sheldon tourney

The Sweet Home wrestling team resumed its 2006-07 season after a holiday break by taking the team title at the Pete Townsend Invitaitonal tournament at Sheldon High School last weekend.

The Huskies finished ahead of 14 other teams, all but three of them from the 5A or 6A level, coach Steve Thorpe said.

“It was a good tournament,” he said, noting that second-place Canby is the top-ranked team in the 6A division. The varsity tournament allowed two entries per weight, as do the district and state tournaments, and that helped the Huskies.

Sweet Home scored 354 points, with Canby second at 302, and Silverton third with 241 points.

“We got to enter second guys and our second guys scored points,” Thorpe said. “We just wrestled very hard. It shows off our depth.

Individual winners for the Huskies were Danny Johnson at 112 pounds, Rob Helfrich at 189 and Matt Parker at 285.

“The most important thing is that the team is starting to compete better as a whole,” Thorpe said. “What we’re working on as a team is everybody wrestling the entire match every time.”

He said the Huskies still have room for improvement, and some wrestlers are stepping up, working out on their own.

“That will make a difference,” Thorpe said. “But we’re not where we need to be for the district or state tournament.”

Sweet Home will be back in action at home against Philomath at 6 p.m. Thursday, Jan. 4. The Huskies will compete at the Roseburg Duals Saturday.

Pete Townsend Invitational

Tournament Team Results

(1) Sweet Home 354, (2) Canby 302, (3) Silverton 241, (4) North Salem 187.5, (5) Dallas 179.5, (6) Pleasant Hill 155, (7) Centennial 152.5, (8) Woodburn 150, (9) Harrisburg 141.5, (10) Crescent Valley 118, (11) Churchill 110.5, (12) South Eugene 65, (13) Rex Putnam 63, (14) Sheldon 46.5, (15) Willamette 31.

Individual Results for Sweet Home

103-(3) Taylor Tagle; (5) Mitch Grove; (Did Not Place) Tyler Holly.

112-(1) Danny Johnson; (DNP) Chris Farris,

Matt Grove.

119-(3) Jack Perry; (DNP) Casey Johnson, Nikki Smith.

125-(4) Brock Crocker; (DNP) Jake Smith.

130-(4) Joe McCaslin; (DNP) Derek Sharp.

135-(5) Levi Weikel; (6) KC Hanscam.

140-(5) Lief Erickson; (DNP) Daniel Smith.

145-(2) Nick Pitts; (DNP) Robert Callagan.

152-(DNP) Andrew Knight, Brad Pitts.

160-(4) Sawyer Anderson; (5) Brandon Lawson.

171-(DNP) Cory Ottre; Anthony Albright.

189-(1) Rob Helrich; (6) Mark Callagan.

215-(DNP) Ethan Rowe, Logan Clark.

285-(1) Matt Parker; (DNP).