Pettit, Bascom named ValCo league football MVPs

Kyle Pettit and Skyler Bascom were named the ValCo League’s offensive and defensive players of the year respectively for this season, it was announced Monday at the Huskies football awards dessert..

Pettit, a senior, also was named the Husky football team’s most valuable player during the event.

Pettit’s passing, 106 of 168 for 1,277 yards, also set a school record for completions and yardage in a single season. His career passing stats, 217 of 404 for 2,923 yards, also placed him number one on the school’s all-time list for career completions, attempts and yardage. He led the Huskies in rushing with 445 yards.

He also received the team’s best back award and was named first-team all-league quarterback and defensive back.

Bascom, a senior, was named first-team all-league running back and the team’s top defensive and most inspirational player.

Adam Hummer’s 39 receptions for 569 yards placed him third on the school’s all-time list for single season receptions and yardage. Hummer, a senior, was named first-team all-league wide receiver and received the team’s award for most improved player.

He was joined by Casey Topp, a senior, as most inspirational. Topp also received second-team all-league recognition at tackle.

The team’s outstanding lineman was Nathan Whitfield, a senior, who also was first-team all-league guard and honorable mention defensive line.

The Dick Reynolds Coaches Award went to seniors Ridge McKinney, Tyrone Perrine and Kris Schaefer.

Perrine was first-team all-league defensive line. McKinney was second-team all-league kicker and honorable mention at defensive back. Schaefer was second-team all-league linebacker and honorable mention center.

The team’s Black Lion Award for courage and leadership went to junior Kelsey Fisher, senior Cory Ottre and junior Za Ramsey. Fisher received honorable mention all-league at defensive line.

Also earning first-team all-league honors were sophomore Josh Riggs at tight end.

Junior Greg Sipe was named second-team all-league defensive back.

Sophomore Zane Wise was honorable mention all-league tackle. Senior Chaz Davis was honorable mention defensive back, and junior Marcus Delong was honorable mention punter.

First-year lettermen were Alyssa Marner, Shawn Pearson, Nathaniel Goodwin, Nick Pitts, Marcus Delong, Dustin Horn, Trevur Byers, Brandon Nunn, Theo Mai, Greg Sipe, Cody Sells, Tyrone Perrine, Robbie Wallace, Josh Riggs, Za Ramsey, Chaz Davis, Logan Clark, Kyle Gutierrez and John Labar.

Second-year lettermen were Mary Bond, Tyler Horner, Ridge McKinney, Steven Jones, Matt Parker, Kelsey Fisher, Adam Hummer, Steve Bergevin, Cory Ottre, Zane Wise, Ben Brewer and Casey Topp.

Third-year lettermen were Krystle Grim, Kris Schaefer, Skyler Bascom, Kyle Pettit and Nathan Whitfield.