Redick re-appointed to chair School Board

During its regular meeting Monday evening, July 8, the Sweet Home School Board appointed incumbent Jason Redick to continue as board chairman.

It elected Mike Reynolds to continue as vice chairman and Debra Brown as secretary. Brown succeeds Angela Clegg whose term ended June 30.

Present at the meeting were Jim Gourley, Chanz Keeney, Redick, Brown and Jenny Daniels.

In other business, the board:

– Certified May 21 election results. During the election, Jenny Daniels and Mike Reynolds retained their seats, Liberty and Sweet Home respectively. Debra Brown retained her seat in Cascadia through a write-in campaign.

Joseph Nelson won Foster with write-in votes, but he does not live in the zone and cannot serve. Incumbent Toni Petersen won Crawfordsville based on write-in votes, but she did not accept the position.

The district will accept applications through 3 p.m. on July 29. To apply, visit the district website at or stop by the superintendent’s office, 1900 Long St. Call (541) 367-7126 for further information.

If the board does not receive any applicants from those zones, it may open the seats up to the district at large.

– Approved the hiring of Killian Maxwell, math teacher at Sweet Home High School; Grant Kauffman, health teacher at Sweet Home Junior High; Ryan Adams, business and math teacher at SHHS; Melinda Stocking, counselor at Oak Heights; Kelly Deckard, teacher at Holley; and SHHS math teacher Darren Perry as a temporary dean of students at Oak Heights.

– Approved the transfer of Holley teacher Brittanie Sorenson to Oak Heights.

– Accepted the resignation of Bailey Davenport, third-grade teacher, Oak Heights Elementary; Lindsey Simmons, counselor at Oak Heights; and Eileen McHill, half-time Spanish teacher, SHHS.

– Declared a 1999 white Dodge van surplus.