SHEDG members to vote on four board seats at annual meeting

The Sweet Home Economic Development Group (SHEDG) will hold its annual membership meeting at 6:30 p.m. Wednesday, March 5, in the community room at Sweet Home Police Department.

Four of the 11 board seats are up for election. Two board members, Kevin Strong and Phyliss Osborn-Smith, have announced they are not running, according to SHEDG. Incumbents Jo Ann McQueary and Michelle Swett are running for re-election.

Other nominees are Marty Melue, Rick Ely and Wendi Melcher.

Nominations will be accepted at the meeting and write-ins are allowed.

The membership meeting will be preceded by a business meeting of the sitting board members at 6 p.m.

The membership meeting will include a presentation by John Wittwer on SHEDG’s plans for the future and from Oregon Jamboree Director Erin Regrutto on future events. Strong, who has chaired the board for several years, will speak about SHEDG’s and the Jamboree’s impact on Sweet Home.

SHEDG operates the Jamboree as a means to raise funds for local economic development. Memberships are open to local residents, at any time during the year, for $15, or $10 if over 65.

Any member can vote in the meeting and residents can sign up as members on the spot.

For more information, contact Carlene Erickson at (541) 367-3061.