Trask, Burcham named most valuable Husky softball players

Seniors Kaci Trask and Amanda Burcham were named most valuable players in softball by their teammates last week.

Burcham, catcher, also earned honorable mention in Capital Conference Awards. Trask was named to the second-team infield. Trask was also voted most inspirational by her team.

Also earning team awards during a dessert held on May 21 were Jamie Miller and Ashley Horn for most improved.

Teresa Lewis, a junior infielder, was named to the Capital Conference second team along with senior pitcher Heather Wall. Laci Gaskey and Crystal Fowler received Capital Conference honorable mention in the outfield.

The team completed their season 8-13 overall and 2-10 in league.

The team started strong, building a 7-2 record early and compiling a 6-3 non-league record.

About halfway through, things changed. Of their last 12 games, the team lost 11 games.

“You truly find out the character of people when you go through difficult times,” Coach Rob Younger said. After 27 years of coaching, he has won many games. Despite the losses this year, he is “going to walk way with my head high” because of his team’s character through the tough second half of the season. The girls, especially the seniors, were a cohesive unit.

Defensively, the team was sound, Coach Younger said. The team struggled on offense, scoring 22 runs in 12 league games.

Lewis, hitting .414, led the Huskies at bats until she was injured in PE about halfway through the season. She scored the most runs with 14, and had a great year at shortstop. Miller scored 10 runs on the season, and Trask added nine.

Wall earned her fourth letter, something Coach Younger gives. She averaged 5.56 strikeouts per game with a .625 strike to ball ratio and an earned run average of 2.56. She led in runs batted in with 13.

“We were 2-10 in league, but every game was a competitive game,” Coach Younger said. The league coaches complimented the Huskies. “One thing, we are is very well respected in this league because of who they are and what they represent.”

First-year letters went to Ashley Horn, Jamie Miller and Summer Guthrie.

Second-year letters went to Laci Gaskey, Amanda Burcham, Tiffany Martinez, Nicole Starha, Crystal Fowler and Mahria Zook.

Third-year letters went to Teresa Lewis and Kaci Trask.

A four-year letter went to Heather Wall.