Voters to choose from nine candidates for City Council

The field has been finalized for Sweet Home’s upcoming municipal elections on Nov. 3.

Four City Council members – James Goble, Lisa Gourley, Cortney Nash and Dave Trask – have their seats up, and all four are running again.

Five new challengers are also in the race: David Lowman, Dylan Richards, Angelita N. Sanchez, Theo White and George S. Yeager.

Under Sweet Home’s election system, the four candidates with the most votes will be elected into office, with the fourth-place winner getting a two-year term and the other three getting four-year terms.

Candidates must be registered voters and must have resided in the city of Sweet Home for at least one year prior to filing. Councilors are given a $75 per month stipend for their work, while the mayor, who is elected annually by the council, gets $85 per month.

Citizens who are registered to vote before Tuesday, Oct. 13, should receive a ballot at their designated mailing address, which they will need to return by mail or in a drop box to cast their votes.

The New Era plans to contact all the candidates and will publish a voters guide prior to the election.