Younger leads race for Fire Board seat; Gourley on top in School Board race

Rob Younger led Kenny Weld and Brock Cota in votes for the Sweet Home Fire and Ambulance District Board of Directors Position 4 seat as of noon Wednesday, following the May 18 election.

Younger had 662 votes (44.34%), ahead of Weld’s 491 (32.89%) and 330 (22.1%) for Cota.

Incumbent Dawn Mitchell (Position 5), who was unchallenged, had 99% of the votes for that position.

Incumbent James Gourley led Elizabeth Ruck and Dale Keene for the Zone 8 (At Large) seat for the Sweet Home School District Board of Directors.

Incumbent Jason Van Eck, who was unchallenged for the Zone 5 (At Large) seat, received 98.7% of votes for that position. The same was true for incumbent Jason Redick in Zone 7 (At Large).

Janice Albert, the lone candidate for Zone 2 (Liberty), had 1,137 votes (98.87%) of the votes for that district. Write-in votes were cast for Zone 1 (Holley), Zone 3 (Foster) and Zone 6 (Crawfordsville), but names of those receiving those votes will not be available until the vote count is confirmed in about two to three weeks, said Derrick Sterling, Linn County supervisor of elections.

He said the county is waiting for any Linn County ballots that were deposited in other counties, and for voters who did not sign their blue ballot submission envelopes to be contacted and given the opportunity to confirm their vote.

In a typical election, he said, the number of those can reach the hundreds, he said.