Defender Hart named soccer team’s Most Valuable Player

Benny Westcott

The end-of-season girls soccer banquet honoring the program’s most impactful players was held Wednesday, Nov. 10 at the Rio Theatre.

Head coach Ramiro Santana handed out the team awards, which were voted on by the players themselves.

“This is probably the most correct voting I’ve ever seen,” he said. “They are so smart.”

Senior defender Kami Hart was named MVP.

Senior Maddie Harris was awarded Best Forward while sophomore Rylee Markell won Best Midfielder and senior Meagan Baham took Best Defender.

The Coaches Award, selected by the coaches, went to Harris and Baham.

“They gave their heart, their patience, and their wisdom coaching,” Santana said. “They help me so much.”

“You don’t want to let them go,” he said of the seniors. “They were coaching on the field as they were playing.”

The Hustle Award went to sophomore midfielder Zianna Duncan. Freshman forward Amelia Sullens claimed Rookie of the Year honors. Jaiden Dennull was named Team Cheerleader.

“She made an intentional decision to cheer on other people and encourage teammates when games were rough,” assistant coach Jill Wilson said of Dennull.

The players were also recognized for achievements in the classroom. In the OSAA’s secondary component of its Academic All State awards, teams could nominate names and GPAs, as long as a minimum of five players were submitted from the full semester prior to the season.

Wilson recalled that approximately 15 players’ grades were submitted. When the results came back, the Huskies ranked second out of 32 4A Oregon girls soccer teams for their average GPA of 3.93.

“Last year we got first in 4A schools,” she said. “It’s starting a tradition.”

Santana read a handwritten note from State Representative Jamie Cate congratulating the girls for their academic accomplishments.

“That is no easy feat,” the letter read. “Keep up the great work on and off the field.”


Fourth-year letter winners: Maddie Harris, Chloe Fairchild and Jenna Wolthius.

Third-year letter winner: Meagan Baham.

Second-year letter winners: Andra Gordon, Jaiden Dennull, Zianna Duncan, Ivy Dewitte, Rylee Markell, Iris Erickson andBrook Burke.

First-year letter winners: Madison Lytle, Tierney Clarho, Amelia Sullens, Samantha Pineda, Cadence Makinson, Zoe Garrett, Kallie Maas, Peyton Markell, Beatrice Reeye, Emerson Martineau, Kami Hart, Jordan Farrell, Arielle Erickson, Alyssa Cruz, Lillian Wolf and Isabel Sayer.