Crawfordsville’s Yeack finishes racing season with multiple titles

Ben Deatherage

Willamette Speedway Writer

The 2012 campaign at Willamette Speedway in USRA Modified competition witnessed Kyle Yeack of Crawfordsville win the his first title in the division in dominating fashion by a total of 100 points.

In 12 point events, eight different drivers visited victory lane including Yeack and Justin Evans, who were the year’s only repeat winners. On top of Yeack winning the championship in the USRA Modifieds he also earned the 2012 Classic Sportsman title.

“Over the winter we put a four-bar on the right side from a two-link suspension and along with new shocks made it better,” Yeack said. “With running both cars I could really see what the track was doing and all the track time definitely helped us out.”

The champion ended the season leading the classification with the most top five finishes (eight) as well as feature wins (four point victories and one non-point win).

In only his second full season in a Modified Yeack, 22, also won two heat races and earned one fast time award.

“I’d like to thank my sponsors Mountain View Woodworking Inc., Crawfordsville Engineering and Construction, Cascade Outdoor Power Equipment, and Unlimited Business Service,” Yeack said. “I would also like to send a special thanks to Laura Gillott, my dad (Tom) for lending me his motor, and my brother Cory for working on my tires all year.”

Finishing the year second in points was Lebanon’s Justin Evans, earning the most fast times (three) and heat race victories (five) during the year.

Defending track champ Dustin Dittman managed a third place finish in the points table with only a single win to his credit.

Kevin Keeney of Sweet Home finished fifth on the points list, driving once again for longtime car owner Glen Hackney. Keeney only managed to finish in the top five once during the course of the year.

Modified Division Final Top 10 Point Standings: (1) Kyle Yeack 1272; (2) Justin Evans 1172; (3) Dustin Dittman 1140; (4) Craig Cassell 1103; (5) Kevin Keeney 781; (6) John Campos 731; (7) T Craig Hanson 731; (8) 8. Brett James 719; (9) Jonathan Lewis 658; (10) Bubba Foster 612.

Classic Sportsman

This was the third straight year a Yeack has conquered the ranks of the Classic Sportsman at Willamette Speedway, with the 2012 champion being Kyle Yeack after his older brother Cory was triumphant last season and Kyle won in 2010.

Yeack won the championship by a comfortable 149 points and also won the championship in the USRA Modifieds and earned a total of 13 main event wins at the historic 1/3-mile oval.

There were a total of 14 races were run in the Classic Sportsman classification throughout the season, producing six different winners and Yeack won the lion’s share, earning a total of eight main event victories and posting 12 top-five finishes.

“This year was pretty good,” Yeack said. “We built a whole new car and this one worked a little better. I was a little bit more patient this year and we had some pretty good runs and it all paid off.

“I’d like to thank my sponsors Mountain View Woodworking Inc., Crawfordsville Engineering and Construction, Cascade Outdoor Power Equipment, Laura Gillott Reality, and Unlimited Business Service, as well as my pit crew for helping me out while ran two different classes this year, especially my brother Cory, who did tires.”

In addition to earning the most wins in the season, he also achieved the most top-five finishes with 12– plus three heat races and two trophy dashes. He also won the 50-lap Iron Giant Challenge in early August.

Albany teenager Bricen James finished the year as the runner-up in the final points table, despite not winning a feature. He was a finisher among the top five on four occasions and won one heat race.

Classic Sportsman Final Top Ten Point Standings: (1) Kyle Yeack 1562; (2) Bricen James 1413; (3) Steve Jorgeson 1346; (4) Doug Scott 1294; (5) Erik Jarnport 1240; (6) Larry Rametes 1172; (7) J.J. Irvine 998; (8) Shannon Horn 984; (9) Christina Foster 960; (10) Sean Cronk 947.